Forbidden Desire

Your lips cover me with kisses, your love is better than wine. There is a fragrance about you, the sound of your name recalls it, and no woman could keep from loving you. Take me with you, and we’ll run away. Be my queen and take me to your room. We will be happy together drink deep, and loose ourselves in love. Woman from the city of saints, I am dark but beautiful, dark as the desert tents of Kedar, but beautiful as the draperies in Solomon’s palace. Don’t look down on me because of my color, because the sun has tanned me. My friends were angry with me and made me work hard in the sun. I had no time to care for myself. Tell me my love where will you lead your heart to gaze? Where will it rest from the noonday sun? Why should I need to look for you among the gazing hearts of this world?

She says, don’t you know the place, loveliest of men? Go and follow the flock; find a place and see for me.

I sat and prepare myself, you my love, excite men as a mare excites the stallion of Pharaoh’s chariots. Your hair is beautiful upon your cheeks, and falls along your neck like jewels. But we will make for you a chain of gold with ornaments of silver.

When she sees me replies, my king was lying on his couch, and my perfume filled the air with fragrance. My lover has the scent of myrrh, as he lies upon my breasts. My lover is like the wild flower that bloom in the vineyards at Engedi.

And I with no more embraces her, how beautiful you are, my love, how your eyes shine with love.

She keeps me in her arms, my head resting upon her breasts and she gentles me with her words, how handsome you are, and my dearest; how you delight me! The green grass will be our bed; the cedars will be the beams of our house, and the cypress trees the ceiling. I am only a wild flower in Sharon, a lily in a mountain valley.

And my heart beats like the war drums raging for a battle and I say, like a lily among thorns is my darling among women.

Leave a Reply

